“You Are Perfect To Me”

 

I know this song has been playing on the radio for awhile now, but Boyce Avenue’s version gave me inspiration. I feel like the song is more meaningful when a guy is singing it, because it is what most of us need to hear; that we are perfect despite our imperfections. However, this very thought is something I have struggled with for some time.

I am not the smallest girl in the world. Something that does not bother me near as much as it bothers my parents. When I am home, they constantly monitor what I eat and how much I eat. I, in fact, do not eat very much at all. I eat less than those I know at the Dining Courts at school, as well as healthier than them. Yet they are skinnier than me. Don’t get me wrong, I try to lose weight, and I have been for awhile. I just have terrible genes.

Since going to college I’ve realized something. People are not all the same. If we were, we’d be plastic and stuffed into little boxes and sold with different clothes.

It’s what make us unique. I always felt that people were judging me as harshly as my parents. Maybe they do. But those people don’t matter, The ones that take the time to know you for you….they are the ones that truly matter. I love this song mostly because of its message. That she’s fought her way through life, not letting the words or looks from others slow her down.

I am happy with my life. I have accepted who I am. Does it suck sometimes to go shopping with my friends, who are skinnier than me? Yeah, sometimes. But I still have fun going. They accept me for who I am… and I can say that I do, too.

So to anyone reading this, you are perfect. You should never try to be anyone or anything other than you. Hold you’re head up high. Live life. Be happy. You are perfectly you.

 

 

~ by Hannah on March 14, 2011.

2 Responses to ““You Are Perfect To Me””

  1. 1. Love you.
    2. You’re beautiful.
    3. Loveeee that cover.

  2. I love everything about this post. I love the cover, a ton. Also, I love you for who you are. You are perfect to me, just the way you are. Don’t change, okay, thanks. Love you.

Leave a Reply

 
