You must stay drunk on writing, so reality cannot destroy you…

Loser: Someone who generally sucks at life.

Loser: A person who is extremely cool and happy with themselves, yet looked down upon for being different. Just because someone is a loser doesn’t mean they are not cool. The cool part about being a loser is getting to admit you are one.

I don’t know about you, but I personally prefer the second definition. (Both are from Urbandictionary.com)

It’s a Saturday night. I am sitting at my dorm right now. Many of my friends are gone this weekend, whether home or visiting friends. I am making a lesson plan. Not even kidding. It is one of five projects due in two weeks. I might as well get use to making lesson plans and grading papers. If I didn’t mention it  before, my major is elementary education. So I spend much of my time worrying about my homework. I mean, it’s no engineering. People assume that my major is easy, apparently the less smart go on to become teachers…? Another thing about my weekends, is that I teach “Sunday School” to 6th and 7th graders here at school. Every Sunday, I wake up at 9am

My roommate tends to go out with her friend-boy (I cannot keep up with whether or not they are dating…). They go to fraternity parties. Now, I will generally go out with them if they go to a house or apartment. I do NOT enjoy frat parties. At all.I try to avoid them when possible. So most nights, I’m left in the quiet confines of my dorm room. This is when I find it easiest to write. And this time, I am not talking about homework.

(Fun fact: This picture isn’t me. However, I prefer to write in pen rather than type. My nails are ALWAYS painted, and I only write in cursive.)

A lot of people that know me, don’t realize that I write. Watching too much Barney as a kid, caused my imagination to be a lot larger then most people’s. I constantly have ideas and scenarios swimming around in my head. Some things are from real experiences, and some times they are things I wish would happen. I’ve been known to write real people into, and out of, the stories. Right now, I’m currently working on two stories. One is about my experience in Show Choir my Junior year of high school. The other is an inside joke between me and my best friend. She is the only person I trust enough to read what I write. She is constantly asking me to write a legit book, and to be a “real” author.

Writing allows me to escape the stress of my life, and venture into a different one. Chances are when I meet you, I am already coming up with a way to use you in a story. I like to sit in random places around campus- when it isn’t blizzarding- and listen to life around me. It’s where I get my inspiration.

So it’s possible I may be a loser, staying in on another weekend. But, I’ve learn to except who I am…. and I’m proud of it. Call me what you will, I’m sure I’ve heard them all.

Oh and as usual, another win for my Boilermakers tonight. It was nice to see them back, after such an ugly loss earlier in the week. It was especially nice seeing Ryne Smith start sinking his three’s again. Boiler Up!

~ by Hannah on January 30, 2011.

4 Responses to “You must stay drunk on writing, so reality cannot destroy you…”

  1. Barney is why I have a big imagination, huh? That’s good to know 🙂

    I understand being drunk on writing. I call writing my drug of choice. It is a stress release for me. We all need an outlet where we can escape life for awhile. Unfortunately, I am unable to write personal experiences. So instead I torture my fictional characters.

    Good luck with your writing and be sure to have fun in college.

  2. In fiction we show the truth but tell no facts.

    Dr. B

  3. Not a loser.

Leave a Reply

 
