ALL roads lead to Mackey, Digger…

Yes. We did pull off another win. The team I love is back, and playing just as hard as ever. But before the actual game was ESPN Gameday, and it took place right here in West Lafayette. Two of the hosts included Digger (former Notre Dame coach) and Bob Knight (former IU coach). Knight decided not to show… not that I blame him. It could’ve gotten dangerous. haha. As for Digger, he received so much crap from the students, it was unbelievable. And hilarious.

I made my roommate get up at 7am to start getting ready for gameday. She was not happy. As we made our way towards Mackey Arena, snow was falling endlessly. I remember saying, “Look Audrey, it’s snowing! Something good will happen! Something good always happens to me when it snows!” Her response? “Whatever, shut up. I still hate you.”

Once inside Mackey, we ended up about five rows from the front, right by the railing that blocked us from getting onto Keady Court. Originally, we were behind an older couple, but the lady must’ve noticed how short I am or something. They let us stand in front of them. If it wasn’t for her, I would not have gotten to high-five Ryne Smith (who was video taping us as he high fived us. The Paint Crew/Students were going crazy!) and John Hart, two of my favorite players.

I was lucky enough to get to go to the game with my brother. It was the Third Year in a row I had gone to the Purdue vs. Michigan State game. This time was different, as he is an alumna and I am finally a student. We were in the very top row, but I still had one of the best times. My brother is one of my best friends, and I love getting to hang out with him.

Purdue played awesome. I always say that, but it was true. Their downfall was rebounding. They need to get someone in there to rebound. I mean, when you have the shortest guy on the court (Lewis Jackson, 5’9) getting the second most rebounds… even though Lewis is amazingly aggressive.

The final score of the game was 86-76 us. Another win for the Boilermakers. We’re coming for your, Buckeyes. Hope you’re ready…

Again, Boiler Up!

~ by Hannah on January 23, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
